‘Smart Girls Don’t Wear Mascara’ : A Book Review (Spoiler Free)

“Smart Girls Don’t Wear Mascara” is a book written by an author in my local area, Cecily Paterson. It is aimed at younger girls 12-14 in age.

‘SMDWM’ is about a girl called Abby Smart who is just starting yr 6 at her local school. With her best friends and their Smart Girls Club, Abby knows that it will be the best year ever. That is until the new girl arrives…

Cecily was so kind and gave me her book after I finished doing work experience with her last year. I read ‘Smart Girls Don’t Wear Mascara’ in my summer break.

I thought ‘SGDWM’ good, but I found the main character quite naive. I think this is because this book aimed at younger people and the fact that the main character Abby is a 12 yr old girl.

So besides that, I didn’t have any other problems with the book and thought that it is well written.

I think if I was younger I would’ve appreciated ‘SGDWM’ a lot more so I do recommend it to younger girls, tweens and young teens.

Cecily’s Website

Happy reading!

– Tamsyn

3 thoughts on “‘Smart Girls Don’t Wear Mascara’ : A Book Review (Spoiler Free)

  1. I have heard Cecily speak at quite a few conferences and she has even giving me some helpful tips for writing! The review was amazing! I have not yet read that book but it does sound like something to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

